Social Studies Curriculum

March 07, 2019

The purpose of CAL’s Social Studies curriculum is to help our students develop into informed and responsible citizens for the 21st century. Our curriculum is aligned to the Iowa Core in Social Studies and is an integration of the Literacy, Writing, and Social Studies Standards. Each grade level includes inquiry and content standards. The inquiry standards outline skills within Social Studies, and the content standards outline what students should know. The content standards are divided into 6 disciplines:

Behavioral Science, Civics/Government, Economics, Financial Literacy, Geography, and History.

The themes of the CAL Elementary Social Studies curriculum by grade level are:


First Grade:

Second Grade:

Third Grade:

Fourth Grade:

Fifth Grade:

Sixth Grade:

Spaces and Places

Community and Cultures

Choices and Consequences

Immigration and Migration

Change and Continuity

Rights and Responsibilities

Regions and Cultures